## Shipping industry calls for release of Galaxy Leader crew still held captive

Today - Monday 19<sup>th</sup> February 2024 – marks the three-month anniversary since the Houthis seized the Galaxy Leader and its 25 seafarers in the Red Sea. The vessel, a roll-on/roll-off vehicle carrier, was seized on 19 November. The maritime industry has joined together from around the world to express their concern for the seafarers who have been held hostage, and call on the Houthis to release the crew of the Galaxy Leader.

"The 25 seafarers who make up the crew of the Galaxy Leader are innocent victims of the ongoing aggression against world shipping, and their plight is a major concern as the merchant shipping community continues to come under attack.

"All efforts must be made by international organisations and States to secure the release of the seafarers."

"It is abhorrent that seafarers were seized by military forces and that they have been kept from their families and loved ones for too long. All 25 crew members of the Galaxy Leader must be released now".

Please kindly see below the full list of co-signatories to this statement.



Asian Shipowners Association (ASA)

Yuichi Sonoda, Secretary General



Asociación de Navieros Españoles (ANAVE)

**Elena Seco, Director General** 



**Bahamas Shipowners Association** 

Domenico Rognoni, Chairman



**BIMCO** 

**David Loosley, Secretary General & CEO** 





**Chamber of Marine Commerce** 

**Chamber of Shipping of America** 

**Bruce Burrows, President & CEO** 

Kathy J Metcalf, President



Confitarma

Mario Zanetti, President



**Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA)** 

Kelly Craighead, President & CEO



**Cyprus Shipping Chamber** 

**Thomas Kazakos, Director General** 



**Danish Shipping** 

Anne H. Steffensen, Director General & CEO



**European Community Shipowners' Association** (ECSA)

**Sotiris Raptis, Secretary General** 



FONASBA (The Federation of National Associations of Ship Brokers and Agents)

**Javier Dulce, President** 



**IFSMA** 

Jim Scorer, Secretary General



InterManager

Capt. Kuba Szymanski, Secretary General



International Association of Ports & Harbors (IAPH)

Patrick Verhoeven, Managing Director



**International Chamber of Shipping** 

**Guy Platten, Secretary General** 



**International Christian Maritime Association** 

Dr. Jason Zuidema, General Secretary



International Marine Contractors Association (IMCA)

lain Grainger, CEO



International Maritime Employers' Council (IMEC)

Francesco Gargiulo, Chief Executive Officer



International Parcel Tankers Association (IPTA)

Manish Jain, Chairman



International Transport Workers' Federation (ITF)

**Stephen Cotton, General Secretary** 



Japanese Shipowners' Association (JSA)

**Toshiya Morishige, Director General** 



Liberian Shipowners' Council Ltd (LSC)

Kierstin Del Valle Lachtman, Secretary General



Norwegian Shipowners' Association (NSA)

Harald Solberg, CEO



Royal Association of Netherlands Shipowners (KVNR)

**Annet Koster, Managing Director** 



**Swiss Shipowners Association (SSA)** 

Eric André, President



The Seamen's Church Institute

The Rev. Mark Nestlehutt, President & Executive Director



**UK Chamber of Shipping** 

Sarah Treseder, CEO



**World Shipping Council (WSC)** 

John W. Butler, President and CEO